Listen


Shhh!!!  Can you hear it?  Are you listening to hear it?

My experience has been and still is that to hear something–I need to listen.  Years of not being heard taught me that very hard lesson.  I’ve been told that listening is a skill that not too many people have.

and they just don’t seem to care to receive it.

Throughout my life I’ve learned to listen.  It’s very hard to hear what someone else has to say if I don’t.

Being interrupted all the time became an obstacle in my way.  It was like I was an invisible person everywhere I went.

Then I was introduced to a 12 step program.  I found out that each person had an opportunity to speak without being interrupted.  I believe that was one of the greatest opportunities I could ever receive.  I could actually say what was on my mind and in my heart to say.  It didn’t make much sense to me and I’m sure to anyone who was there, but it was great…  Finally–I was able to get out a full sentence without being interrupted.

I started attending everyday.  At first I was sooo confused!!  There was sooo much built up inside of me.  I’m sure I sounded crazy!  I was!

Those opportunities to just get out what I was thinking helped me to bgin my journy to recovery because those thoughts weren’t running around in my head anymore!  They were outside of me and I was able to see more clearly what they were.  Also there was an empty spot inside where I could fill it with positive, constructive thoughts.  Wow!  It was amazing!  Also I could hear what I needed to hear and leave the rest.  Even if it was one word that I could focus on.  It helped.  As time went on I started to learn a little bit and I’ve learned to listen at a deeper level.  That has been a skill that I’ve been learning to help others around me.

The greatest words that I have received are from God’s Word in Jer.32-33–And they have turned to me the back and not the face, though I taught them, rising up early and teaching them, yet they have not listened to receive instruction.

It has taken me many years of wandering in the wilderness to get this.  I can’t even count how many times I’ve marked and dated it.  But I’m learning to obey God’s Word in this and (1) day at a time sometimes (1) moment at a time I do my best to rise up early in the morning to receive instruction so that I may better learn God’s will for my life.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Listen

  1. If you’re interested in having a guest blog poster please let me know. I will provide you with unique content for your webstie, thanks.
    forex trading software

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

